Award given at the 2023 IEEE Military Communications Conference to scholars from Virginia Tech

BOSTON – The National Spectrum Consortium distributed the third annual Dr. Vanu Bose Best Paper Awards to scholars from Wireless@Virginia Tech and the Virginia Tech National Security Institute yesterday at the 2023 IEEE Military Communications Conference (MILCOM).

Named in honor of the National Spectrum Consortium’s founder, the Dr. Vanu Bose Best Paper Awards recognize NSC members whose research papers advance and promote innovative spectrum-related technology ideas. The winners are:

  • Megan O. Moore, R. Michael Buehrer, PhD, and William C. Headley, PhD from Virginia Tech for their paper, “Time-Diverse Doppler-only LEO PNT”

This year marks the sixth anniversary of Dr. Vanu Bose’s passing. The NSC is committed to continuing Dr. Bose’s legacy by honoring research that uses technology to advance the greater good.

“Congratulations to the deserving recipients of this year’s award,” said NSC Chair Sal D’Itri. “Dr. Bose was a pioneer in spectrum innovation, and we’re honored to present these awards in his memory. NSC has worked hard to honor his memory and bright vision of the future through exploring innovative, next-generation technical solutions and fostering opportunities for industry-government collaboration.”

The recipients will receive a $5,000 prize from NSC. The candidates’ papers were reviewed by NSC Executive Committee members Jeff Evans and Erik Perrins.

More information on Dr. Vanu Bose’s legacy can be found here.


About the National Spectrum Consortium

The NSC’s mission is to build bridges between key stakeholder groups – government and industry; industry stalwarts and startups; and civilian and military suppliers and users – to deliver two essential outcomes: breakthroughs in spectrum- and spectrum-using capabilities; and policy and regulatory insights to enhance, inform and sustain U.S. technical leadership. For more information, visit


Danielle Leopold-Bogage